You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

1970: That Championship Season

  • Updated
  • 0
  • 10 min to read

This past football season, the state crowned six champions. Now there is talk about expanding to seven classes, including two in 8-player in which AGWSR plays.

But there were only three classes in 1970. Then Ackley-Geneva, the Raiders, were in 2A.

Sickles and Jones.jpg

Sid Sickles and Alan Jones

Ron Neuberger

Ron Neuberger 1970

Ron Neuberger

Ron Neuberger today

Dave Abbas

Dave Abbas today.

Dave Abbas

Dave Abbas 1970

Dennis Harms

Dennis Harms 1970

Dennis Harms

Dennis Harms today

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.